Sunday, July 21, 2024
Breaking News
Home » General » Pinoy students win 27 medals in China math contests

Pinoy students win 27 medals in China math contests

The Filipino winners of the CGMO (top) and 2015 WMI. Photo: Handout

MANILA – Continuing the country’s string of victories in international math contests, young Filipino students won a total of 27 medals in two recent competitions in China.

Each of the five Philippine delegates brought home a medal at the China Girls Mathematical Olympiad (CGMO) held in Guangdong from August 10 to 14.

Andrea Jaba and Jinger Chong of St. Jude Catholic School in Manila each won a silver medal, while Isabel Jocyn Villanueva of PAREF Woodroose School in Muntinlupa, Natalie Beatrice Dy of St. John’s Institute in Bacolod City and Tiffany Mae Ong of Immaculate Conception Academy in San Juan were given bronze medals.

“I congratulate our young girls for winning in this year’s CGMO,” Dr. Simon Chua, president of the Mathematics Trainers Guild-Phlippines (MTG), said in a statement.

Aside from the Philippines and China, which topped the competition, other participating countries in the CGMO include the United States, Singapore, Russia, Malaysia, Indonesia, Macau and Hong Kong.

Meanwhile, the Philippine team bagged three gold medals, 19 bronze medals and 30 merit awards at the 2015 World Mathematics Invitational (WMI) contest held in Gullin, China from August 8 to 12.

The contest also included participants from Taiwan, Thailand, Malaysia, Korea and Macau.

Here are the winners in the WMI, according to the Mathematics Development Academy of the Philippines or MathDAP:

Gold medal

1. Philip Ezekiel Tan III – Philippine Science High School-Main
2. Ayezza Myrisse Candelario – Negros Occidental National Science High School
3. Eric Fabian Mendez Jr. – Philippine Science High School-Bicol Region

Bronze medal

1. Evan Nathaniel Collantes – Divine Light Academy
2. Nathan Gabriel Neria – Grace Christian College
3. Alyanna Almirol – Falcon School
4. Franz Achilles Lindayag – Ateneo de Davao University
5. Cyrus Nolasco – Dasmariñas II Central School
6. Andrea Zyrene Palisoc – BHC Educational Institution
7. Jehan Domenden – St. Paul College of Ilocos Sur
8. Angie Claryl Caccam – Tuguegarao West Central School
9. Gianna Patricia Jimenez – San Beda College-Alabang
10. Martin Johan Ocho – De La Salle Zobel
11. Bedrich Damasco – Immaculate Conception Parochial School
12. Justin Reign Aguinaldo – Philippine Yuh Chiau School
13. Hannah Isabelle Mediavillo – Colegio San Agustin-Biñan
14. Amery Caleb Atinon – Xavier School
15. Natasha Mae Delmo – Dr. Vicente F. Gustilo Memorial National High School
16. Nazka Leosala – Taguig Science High School
17. Makarios Joash Wee – Philippine Christian Gospel School
18. Maria Cassandra Vitug – International British Academy
19. Nicanor Chan Jr. – St. Paul University

Merit award

1. Kyla Keith Tan – Lanao Chung Hua School
2. Kristen Anne Deodores – Colegio San Agustin – Biñan
3. Shaun Nicolo Salazar – PAREF Southridge School
4. Daryl Josef Fernandez – Dasmariñas II Central School
5. Joan Ian Ross Llavore – Macalva Elementary School
6. Roy Vincent Lopico – Saint Barachiel Special Science School
7. Jhurgen Keith Selwyn Pascua – Eastern Gate Christian Academy
8. Maria Domnique Beltran – University of St. Louis Tuguegarao
9. Ashlyn FarahTadeo – Jesus is Lord Colleges Foundation
10. Alexa Frann Barbadillo – Colegio de San Ignacio
11. Jan Michael Ortaliz – Trinity Christian School
12. Karylle Faye Lopez – Tuguegarao West Central School
13. Jomico Marcus Costales – BHC Educational Institution
14. Kasey Amira Cristobal – Columban College – Barreto
15. Ella Katrina Sesuca – St. Paul College of Ilocos Sur
16. Melissa Joy Co – Ke Bing School
17. Ma. Allyssa Bea Duya – Iloilo Scholastic Academy
18. Macky Emerson Benitez – St. Augustine’s School
19. Francesca Bettina Bernabe – Philippine Yuh Chiau School
20. Kasler Dell Abansi – BHC Educational Institution
21. Julla Gray Cerezo – Divine Word Academy of Dagupan
22. Marinel Conceja – Lyceum of Aparri
23. Josua James Angelo Galotera – Philippine Science High School-Western Visayas
24. Ivaniel Salen – Sen. Renato Compañero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School
25. Bryan Kier Leopando – Tagbilaran City Science High School
26. Diego Gabriel Rodriguez – on Bosco Technical Institute
27. Jethro Mendoza – Regional Science High School I
28. Samantha Jule Ebarle – University of San Carlos-South
29. Christel Joyce Castro – Sen. Renato Compañero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School
30. Markus Christoffer Toribio – Lyceum of Aparri



Source: ABS-CBN News PH

Check Also

Where to check your voter’s registration?

COMELEC (Commision On Election) developed an application to be used by  OFWs and Seafarers to ...